Hoop Shoot

Hoop Shooting the Breeze! Check these out!

Hoop Shooting the Breeze Season 2, Episode 1

Hoop Shooting the Breeze is back! In the first episode of season two, host Makenna Cannon sits down with Bart Powell, a longtime friend of the program and a vital part of the National Finals. Every year, he presents the Getty Powell Award—named for his father, the Hoop Shoot’s first National Director—to the top overall girl and boy shooters. Tune in for a Hoop Shoot history lesson and some of Bart’s favorite memories!

Hoop Shooting the Breeze Season 3, Episode 1

Welcome to Season 3! We’re back with a new season of great interviews, great guests and a great new cohost! Great Lakes Region 4 Regional Director Jeff Franklin joins the first episode of the season to talk about how he got started in the program, how he’s shaped the Indiana State Hoop Shoot contest, and his ambitious Hoop Shoot history project.

Hoop Shooting the Breeze Season 3, Episode 2

Youth Programs Coordinator Nathan Springberg is joined by four-time Hoop Shoot National Finalist Kelly Lane Clauss. Kelly was the first competitor, boy or girl, to win the National Finals back to back, and she went on to play basketball at Indiana State University. In this episode, Kelly talks about the lessons that she took from the Hoop Shoot, and she gives advice for future participants. You don’t want to miss this!


Congratulations to Emersyn Hess, National Champion representing 8-9 girls and Samuel Nolan, National Runner Up representing 8-9 boys! Awesome shooting! Go Indiana!


Check out this newscast posted on Facebook! Emersyn Hess on the news

Listen to Emersyn on the Radio!

Read the awesome article about Samuel Nolan!

2022 Area 4 Results

8-9 Year Old Girls
Vincennes, IN
19 out of 25

8-9 Year Old Boys
New Albany, IN 
23 out of 25

10-11 Year Old Girls
Findlay, OH
19 out of 25
10-11 Year Old Boys
Manistique, MI
22 out of 25

12-13 Year Old Girls
Copper Country, MI
20 out of 25* 7/10

12-13 Year Old Boys
Howell, MI
21 out of 25* 7/10

* shootoff (5 more shots to break a tie)

2022 Girls Hoop Shoot Link Region 4 Girls Hoop Shoot

2022 Boys Hoop Shoot Link Region 4 Boys Hoop Shoot

Indiana 2020 Hoop Shoot Champion Kayla Stidham


Jeff Franklin (Nichole)
State Hoop Shoot Chairman
2462 N. 1175 W.
Linton, Indiana 47441
(H) 812.798.0215
(C) 798.512.2225
email: hoopshoot@indianaelks.org